Yes, You Cancun!

2017-02-03_04-36-33_109

Why Cancun? The roundtrip flight from SFO was $280. I base a ridiculous amount of my traveling decisions on (low) flight costs. I both hate and love this habit of mine.

I went from January 31 – February 4, 2017 and came back right before I started my first job as a software engineer for the first time. I stayed at an Airbnb far — far! — away from the bulk of the massive hotels and resorts. A summary of the mehs and wows of my trip:

Meh:

  • “Timeshare” presentations. Except at this resort, it was a “lifestyle” package of some sort. The salesman actually came from the Bay Area and bonded with me over that fact. And then lost me when he casually mentioned that he stayed out of the country for too long and couldn’t return (which was fine) but also, hey, he had some run-ins with the law in regards to his ex-wife alleging domestic violence charges against him. (pokerface)
  • Loud tourists. There’s not much to elaborate on this.

Wow:

  • $30 hour-long massages. On the beach.
  • The warm, warm water. So heavenly.
  • Delicious seafood with waterfront views and laid back setting.
  • Warm weather.
  • Sunshine. Thank you. I hadn’t seen you in a while and it made all the difference in the world to see you again for an extended period of time.
  • Isla Mujeres. This island was so low-key and I loved it. I would totally stay on the island the next time I visit Cancun.
  • Isla Animals. I was riding a bicycle through Isla Mujeres when I stopped and saw some dogs hanging out. Instinct kicked in and I went over to inquire. It was an animal rescue on the island and, you will not believe my luck, they needed people to just come and hang out with the dogs and help to socialize them. No strings attached. Needless to say, I spent a little bit of time there. It was the best!

2017-02-03_08-40-27_448

Leave a Reply

